Mushroom in Cashew Curry

This is our favorite recipe that we cook whenever we are hosting vegetarian or vegan guests. We love it because the gravy is rich, silky, creamy & smooth and easily replaces the routine paneer (fresh cheese) as the main vegan entrée in northern India cuisine. Another reason to love this recipe is  that it was our favorite vegetarian entrée while eating out in India. We love it so much that we tried to cook it at home without knowing the recipe. Just by guessing the ingredients from our memory of the tasteful gravy we tried to cook it a few times at home and now we have perfected it over time. We are proud that it’s almost the same as what we used to have at restaurants in India.

Another variation to this recipe is using the additional ingredient of poppy seed paste. In north Indian cuisine, use of poppy seeds in curries and gravies is not very popular but we have experienced that adding poppy seed paste in cashew based gravy greatly enhances the taste of the curry. Our video here however shows it just using cashew based gravy. Please watch to see us cook this wonderful vegetarian curry that goes so well with any kind of Indian bread.

Ingredients Summary

Button Mushroom – 2 lbs; Cashews – 15; Onion – 2 (chopped); Green Chilli – 5 (chopped); Cumin Seed – 1 tsp; Ginger Garlic Paste – 1 tbsp; Coriander Powder – 2 tsp; Cumin Powder – 2 tsp; Ground Black Pepper – 1 tsp; Garam Masala – 2 tsp; Kasoori Methi – 1 tbsp; Salt – 1 tsp; Heavy Cream – 1/2 cup; Butter – 2 tbsp;

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Twitter | Yahoo Buzz | Google Buzz

Published in: on May 18, 2010 at 10:39 pm  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://desihomecook.wordpress.com/2010/05/18/mushroom-curry/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love the recipe. I can’t wait to try this. I love all indian curry with hot roti. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Fabulous recipe – just what I was looking for but better. Thank you for sharing it. I have a mixed crowd for lunch and approx half are vegetarians. I am also doing a Palak Paneer – yummy! plus chicken and lamb. Indian cooking is just wonderful!

  3. Hello,
    I encountered your blog while googling “vegan cashew curry.” Just to let you know it is NOT vegan, as your introductory paragraph says. Sorry.

    Nancy

  4. amazing cooking videos, made up keeping in mind tht viewers got some brain…. impressed,,, i love to see your videos coz it takes only time tht is required , no crap at all

  5. thanks

  6. Fantastic goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely
    fantastic. I really like what you have acquired here, really
    like what you are stating and the way in which you say it.
    You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep
    it wise. I can not wait to read much more from you.

    This is really a great site.

  7. Wow I don’t know if it’s me or maybe your web page but it is starting really sluggish , it took me just like a couple of minutes to finally load on the other hand twitter works
    properly . Nevertheless, Thanks for putting up such type of amazing articles.
    I’m sure this has been seriously helpful individual who seem to
    click here. I’m hoping I will be able to get
    even more awesome content and I also should certainly
    flatter you simply by telling you have done fantastic writing.
    I now have you bookmarked to see blog you post.

  8. Hey there Your main website loads up incredibly slow in my
    situation, I am not sure who’s problem is that however twitter and facebook starts relatively immediate.
    Anyways, I am going to thank you for including fantastic blog post.
    Everyone who found this web site must have found this content totally handy.
    I am hoping I’ll be able to get more incredible
    information and I also should complement your site
    simply by saying you have done amazing job. Immediately after viewing the post, I have book-marked your site.


Leave a Reply

